About me…

Before I began, I would like to describe some back ground information of who am I, where my family is from and my relationship to the world. I am an Iranian-American from a family of six. I have three brothers, one younger, and two older than me. My little brother and I were born in the US, as for the rest of my family, they are from Iran. My early childhood, we had lived in Chicago for about 13 years of my life, before moving up north to the suburb of Highwood and still reside there.

My family is very traditional, just I’m sure most foreign families are. Growing up in the US and being around the westernized culture, I am still learning more about my own Persian ways. Traditionally, families are suppose to be big in numbers, as oppose to the US, where families are smaller in size. Ideally, westernized men and women tend to be single and delay marriage, where as traditional men and women want to get married or rather need to get married because it helps them financially.

Its pretty cool experiencing both sides of the world, it can be very confusing at times, but in its own unique way. To have my family grow up in a developing nation to successfully making they’re way into the US as citizens, is a dream many people want to achieve. To give myself and my brothers a chance to go to school and the opportunity to go to college, seems like an everyday routine for the typical American kid, but they didn’t have that chance. It seems that kids in developing countries don’t have many options with what they want to do in their life because they’re families struggle to make a living, which would mean becoming an adult a lot sooner than expected. I’m glad that my parents gave me the opportunity to succeed, giving me options. One day, it will be my turn to give back to my parents.

Leave a comment